Each year, Chase Community Solar Limited holds an AGM at which board elections take place, and any member over 18 who is not excluded by law from being the director of an organisation is eligible to stand for the Board.

The directors are currently :

Richard Baines – Chair.  Richard trained as an environmental scientist in architecture and is currently employed as a sustainability consultant helping housing associations, local authorities and manufacturers to learn about sustainability. He was a director of the National Right to Fuel Campaign and co-authored the Fuel Poverty Fact File. A member of the Board since July 2017, and now Chair, Richard is currently also Chair of the Midlands Environmental Business club, the regional branch of the UK-Business Council for Sustainable Development.

Elaine BerryTreasurer. Appointed to the Board in November 2018, Elaine trained at KPMG, qualifying as a chartered accountant in 1981, and remaining there for 15 years. In 1998 she set up a practice which specialised in owner-managed businesses with turnovers of up to £10 million. She brings to the Board a wealth of financial knowledge as well as practical experience of running a business.

Dave Crosby – Dave is a qualified Chemical Engineer with more than 20 years experience of improving manufacturing systems and supply chains.  He works as a consultant, providing process improvement advice, and joined the Board in June 2017.

Mike Kinghan – Mike is an experienced economic regeneration professional who has worked in senior positions in local authorities and regeneration agencies as well as running his own consultancy business for several years. He was Chairman of the national award-winning Whittington and Fisherwick Environment Group for six years, leading the Group in devising a series of energy-saving programmes. In 2012 he was awarded the status of a regional ‘Green Leader’ in recognition of his work with WFEG and advocacy of low carbon communities and in June 2012 was awarded the MBE for services to sustainability and biodiversity in Staffordshire and the West Midlands region. Mike was Chair of the Society until handing the role over to Richard Baines in January 2018.

Robin Powell –  a Chartered Mechanical Engineer who has worked on power station equipment, off road vehicles and defence materiel, Robin is a long-standing member of the Board. Since his retirement, his family has invested in two community wind farms, Westmill and Fenland, and a Future Energy Prospects Community Fund as well as a domestic solar thermal system. His family lives near Stafford and is engaged with growing Miscanthus (elephant grass) near Lichfield for biomass electricity generation at Ely and Drax power stations.

Andrea Simpson – Society Secretary. Andrea has been a director and the Society Secretary of Chase Community Solar since it was formed in 2014, and holds a similar position on the Board of Southern Staffordshire Community Energy. Retired following a 30-year career in telecommunications, she has been interested in environmental issues since an early age, and is a founder member of Low Carbon Lichfield.

Robin Taylor – Robin has a professional background in human resources, learning and economic development and area regeneration, working in the private, voluntary and public sectors. This included Birmingham City Council, the Learning and Skills Council and two regeneration zones in the West Midlands. He was a founder director of two social enterprises and is a long-standing member of the Board of Chase Community Solar.

 Gordon Telling – Gordon is a technologist working in the area of Ultra-Low Emission Vehicles and energy systems. He also has significant experience of government policy development, particularly in the area of freight & logistics. He joined the Board of Chase Community Solar in December 2017.